Failure to Register as a Sex Offender Charge in Los Angeles County
Los Angeles Sex Crime Lawyer
If you have been convicted of a
sex crime in Los Angeles and were sentenced to sex offender registration, you will face harsh penalties
if you fail to register. In California, sex offenders are required to
register with local law enforcement at regular intervals. This includes:
- Registering within 5 working days of the offender's release from prison/jail,
or upon completion of an alternative sentence.
- Registering every year within 5 business days of the offender's birthday.
- Re-registering within 5 days of moving or changing names.
The offender is required to register and verify his or her name and address
at these intervals, as well as his or her place of employment.
Penalties for the Failure to Register or Re-Register
California Penal Code Section 290 outlines the regulations associated with
sex offender registration and re-registration. Failure to register as
a sex offender may be a misdemeanor or a felony offense, depending upon
whether the offense that the offender was convicted of was a misdemeanor
or a felony. If the offender was convicted of a felony sex offense, the
failure to register or re-register will be a felony. If the offender was
convicted of a misdemeanor sex offense, failure to register will be a
A felony conviction for a failure to register or re-register as a sex offender
in California may result in imprisonment in state prison for 16 months,
2 years or 3 years.
Contact a lawyer immediately!
A dedicated attorney from our firm can protect your rights in the face
of allegations that you have failed to register as a sex offender. With
our extensive knowledge and experience in this area, we are able to provide
high-quality representation to all of our clients. We can help you understand
the specific qualifications of registering and re-registering in order
to help you avoid charges in the first place, and we can defend your rights
against criminal charges.