Removal from Sex Registration Requirement
Los Angeles Sex Offender Defense Lawyers
The state of California takes
sex crimes very seriously. The laws surrounding such offenses are very strict and
can be difficult to circumvent. Possible sex crimes include sexual assault,
luring of a minor,
sexual conduct with a minor,
date rape, spousal rape, and lewd conduct. The penalties for such acts are severe
and can include fines, jail time and
mandatory registration as a sex offender.
Being forced to register as such an offender can have far reaching affects
that will haunt you for the rest of your life. Registration often leads
to social ostracism, hatred, and infamy among your community. Often such
prejudice is not warranted by the actual magnitude of the offense. If
you are looking for exemption from or to have your information removed
from California's sex offenders list, you should hire a Los Angeles
sex crime defense attorney from our firm.
Criminal law in California is based off of the Penal Code. The laws for
sex crimes are within section 290. This law dictates that any convicted
sex offender must register in the database. Their information will then
be publicly displayed on
Megan's Law website. According to §290.46 there are four categories that a registered
offender will fall under on the site. These include:
- Home Address
- Conditional Home Address
- Zip Code
For all individuals who fall under the first category, their home address
and information about the individual themselves will be posted online.
Those who are in the second category committed a different type of offense.
The same information as the first category will be provided. For those
who are in the third category, their zip code—but not their actual
home address—will be posted. The fourth and final category includes
offenders whose information cannot be displayed on the internet at all.
These individuals are still registered sex offenders and are therefore
known by law enforcement agencies, but they remain private to the general
The law requires that an individual who is convicted of a listed offense
must register as a sex offender. This individual must appear in person
at their local police or sheriff's department to register. After being
released from custody, the offender has five working days to appear at
one of these local departments. Should the individual change residences,
they again have only five working days from the move to re-register. Every
year a registrant must update their registration within five days of their
birthday. Anyone who is considered to be a violent predator must update
their status every 90 days and a transient—or homeless—offender
must do so every 30 days.
Clearing Your Record
There are a number of avenues that you can take in your efforts to avoid
the sex registration requirement. The first is applying for a California
Certificate of Rehabilitation. This certificate essentially declares your
criminal history a thing of the past and certifies that you abide by the
law and are rehabilitated. When you receive this certification there are
a number of benefits. First and foremost, in some situations, it will
relieve you from your duty to register as an offender. It also means that
a state licensing agency cannot automatically den you a license. It becomes
an automatic application to the state governor for a pardon. If you then
receive this pardon, any prior felonies cannot be used to destroy your
credibility as witness.
In order to qualify to apply for this certification, you must have been
a California resident for five years and must wait five years after you
first registered. If you are looking to clear your record and remove your
personal information off of the internet, you should work with Okabe &
Haushalter. Our law firm is dedicated to helping you get as clean a slate
as possible so that you can get back to living a normal life. Being registered
as a sex offender places an insurmountable burden on your shoulders. We
will aggressively work to remove you from registration requirements.
Call our firm today!