Exploring The Penalties That Come With A DUI In California
If you are facing your first, second, third or subsequent DUI charge in California it is in your best interest to contact a Los Angeles DUI defense attorney. Call the team of Okabe & Haushalter to schedule a consultation.
1230 Rosecrans Avenue Suite 300,Manhattan Beach, ,
Anyone facing a charge of driving under the influence (DUI) likely has a lot of stress about their future. Multiple DUI charges can lead to the suspension or revocation of a driver’s license. From hefty fines to jail time; a charge of DUI can bring with it a lot of penalties. You need to know what’s at stake with your rights and your freedom if you are ever facing a DUI charge. Our Los Angeles DUI defense attorney would like to discuss the penalties that come with a California DUI in today’s post.
First-Time DUI Charge Penalties
If you are facing your first-ever charge of DUI in California you can expect the following penalties levied against you:
You will face fines ranging from $390 to $1,000. The amount could increase based on the penalty assessments assigned by the court.
Jail time ranges from 48 hours to six months. Mandatory jail time is waived if the judge orders that you go on probation.
License suspension of six months. If you refuse a blood test you will have your license suspended for one year. After a hard suspension of 30 days, you might be eligible for a restricted license, which allows you to drive to and from school or work.
Probation can be assigned for a period of three years. It can be as high as five years.
The fines remain the same with the second offense as a first: $390 to $1,000 or higher based on penalty assessments.
A second offense can land you in jail for anywhere from 96 hours to one year. It is possible to serve jail time using house arrest or an alternative work program.
You will be issued a two-year suspension of your driver’s license from the court and a one-year suspension from the Department of Motor Vehicles. The suspensions can overlap and you could apply for a restricted license after 90 days.
Probation is issued between three and five years and is pretty much informal. The judge will also sentence you to a DUI school ranging between 18 and 30 months.
Third-Time DUI Charge Penalties
If you have been charged with a third DUI you will face the following penalties:
Anywhere from $390 to $1,000 in fines plus penalty assessments.
You are facing anywhere from 120 days to one year in jail. If probation is ordered you will be forced to spend 30 days in jail and 30 months in a DUI program.
Your license will be suspended for at least three years and possibly longer. The DMV will also issue a one-year suspension of your license.
Probation lasts anywhere from three to five years and is informal. The judge could also sentence you to enroll in and pass a DUI program of 30 months or more.
Contact an Attorney Today
If you are facing your first, second, third or subsequent DUI charge in California it is in your best interest to contact an attorney. Call the experienced team of Okabe & Haushalter in Los Angeles to schedule a consultation.