Posted By OKABE & HAUSHALTER 16-Aug-2018
When you carry a weapon in California and commit a crime you will find yourself in a lot of trouble. The weapons laws in the state are strict, especially when it comes to firearms. It’s important that you know the laws before going out in public with a weapon on your person. It’s also important to know the weapons charges that can be issued in the state should you be caught with a weapon during the commission of a crime. Our Los Angeles weapons charge defense attorney would like to discuss the weapons charges you could face in California in today’s post.
The Various Weapons Charges
There are quite a few weapons charges on the books in California that thousands of people face every year. The majority of the charges levied in the state each year that involve weapons are felonies. Some of the weapons charges you could be hit with include the following:
- Aggravated assault using a deadly weapon
- Carrying a weapon that is concealed
- The illegal sale of a firearm or another weapon
- Possessing a weapon after being convicted of a felony
- The improper handling of a firearm when in a vehicle
- Shooting or firing an object into a building
- The possession of a weapon that is deemed to be an assault weapon
Penalties for a Weapons Charge in California
Now that you know the various weapons charges that could be levied against you it’s time to look at the penalties for these charges in California. Whether you are charged with a misdemeanor or a felony all depends on the circumstances of the incident that led to your arrest. The judge will make the determination based on the intent with the weapon, the type of weapon, and any prior offenses on your record.
Misdemeanor Charges for Weapons Crimes
The California Penal Code punishes misdemeanor charges with no more than one year in a county jail and/or a fine of no more than $1,000. Having multiple misdemeanors on your record could result in the judge assigning a felony charge for your most recent weapons crime.
Felony Charges for Weapons Crimes
If you are charged with a felony weapons crime in California you could face anywhere from one to 20 years in prison. If you are convicted and then sentenced, the sentencing handed down by the judge will be based on the type of the weapon used, the crime committed, the intent during the commission of the crime and your previous criminal record.
Some weapons crimes in California might also be eligible for gun enhancements. These enhancements would add years onto your sentence. If a gun is used in the commission of any of the state’s 19 serious felonies you could face decades added to your sentence.
Are you facing a weapons charge in California? You should always have an experienced Los Angeles weapons charge defense attorney by your side when facing such a charge. Contact the office of Okabe & Haushalter today at 310-430-7799 to schedule an appointment with an experienced criminal defense attorney.
Category: Weapons Charge