Results matter, especially after an arrest. See how our past successes have helped our former clients.
Our commitment to protecting the rights of our clients drives us to secure the best possible outcome.
When the unexpected occurs, we are here 24/7 to listen to your side of the story and act on your behalf.
If you live in California, you probably know that California’s criminal justice system is designed in a way to keep first-time offenders out of jail. However, if countless weapon charges cases in recent years are any indication, even non-violent persons with first-time gun charges end up in jail.
Here’s the thing: if you have been arrested for a gun crime in Los Angeles or elsewhere in California, the outcome of your criminal case is extremely unpredictable regardless of whether it is your first-time charge or not. However, with the legal help of a Los Angeles weapons charge defense attorney from Okabe & Haushalter, there is a higher chance to defend yourself against the criminal charges and get the charges dropped or dismissed (Read more about the difference between dropped and dismissed charges).
“Wait, does it mean that I could end up in jail even for a first-time gun possession charge?” you may be wondering. Unfortunately, the answer to your question is “yes.” But nothing can be said for certain without looking into the facts surrounding your particular case.
Let’s review California’s gun crime laws in a nutshell:
Generally, getting arrested for a gun possession crime means that you risk landing in prison.“Since many gun possession offenses are felony offenses, you can end up getting a 2-, 4-, or 6-year sentence in prison,” says our experienced weapons charge defense attorney in Los Angeles. In fact, the minimum penalty for a gun possession crime in California can climb as high as 16 months in prison.
More often than not, for a gun possession crime to be considered a felony under California law, your case must meet one or several of the conditions:
Other types of possession offenses can result in a jail sentence of up to one year and/or a fine of up to $1,000. In some cases, the prosecutor may choose to throw you into jail for three months (this jail time applies to cases with certain offenses on your criminal record).