Posted By OKABE & HAUSHALTER 07-Dec-2018
Although stun guns – also known as Tasers – are far from harmless, many people in California tend to believe that there are no legal requirements for possession of stun guns in the state. But is that true?
“Not exactly,” says our weapons charge defense attorney Los Angeles at Okabe & Haushalter. “In fact, you could face legal punishment for purchasing, possessing, and/or using a stun gun in Los Angeles or elsewhere in California, so we strongly recommended that you learn more about California stun gun laws before it’s too late.”
Legal requirements for possession of stun guns in California 2019
A stun gun, also known as an electroshock weapon, is a popular device capable of temporarily immobilizing a person by inflicting an electrical charge aimed at temporarily disrupting muscle functions and/or inflicting pain without injury. Stun guns, also known as Tasers (named after the main manufacturer of electroshock weapons in the U.S.), are popular among both men and women for the purpose of self-defense against robberies and assaults.
So what are the possession requirements outlined in stun gun laws in California? When is purchasing, carrying, possessing, or using a stun gun illegal in California? We invited our Los Angeles weapons charge defense attorney from Okabe & Haushalter to shed light on statutory requirements for stun guns.
Persons who are not legally allowed to carry and use stun guns in California
First and foremost, let’s begin with the persons who are not legally permitted to carry, possess, and use electroshock weapons in California.
Typically, California residents are not required to obtain a permit for purchasing, possessing, and using stun guns. However, certain individuals are not allowed to carry a Taser in California. You are prohibited from possessing and carrying stun guns in California if any of the following is true:
- You are addicted to any narcotic drug.
- You are a convicted felon.
- You have been convicted of an assault in the federal or state justice system in the U.S. or any other country.
- You have a prior conviction for misusing or improperly using a stun gun.
- You are a minor under the age of 16.
Parental or guardian consent for possession of stun guns
If you are 16 to 18 years old, you must obtain parental or guardian consent for possession of stun guns in California. Our experienced weapons charge defense attorney in Los Angeles explains that failure to obtain a proper consent from your parents or guardians if you are 16 to 18 years old may result in legal consequences under the juvenile justice system.
Individuals arrested for improper furnishing or sale of stun guns to a minor face a fine of $50 for the first offense and may be charged with a misdemeanor for subsequent offenses.
When is it illegal to carry and use stun guns in California?
Many readers of our blog here at Okabe & Haushalter ask our best criminal defense lawyers in California whether or not it is unlawful to posses or use a stun gun in an airport. Our Los Angeles weapons charge defense attorney says that it is illegal to carry or use a Taser when you are:
- In a secure area of an airport.
- In a passenger terminal.
- In any other facility for regular commuter operations.
- In any state or local government building.
- In a meeting that is open to the public.
Violating any of the above may lead to misdemeanor charges in California, and can negatively affect your life. That is why it is highly advised to consult with our criminal defense attorneys in Los Angeles at Okabe & Haushalter. Get a free consultation by calling at 310-430-7799.
Category: Weapons Charge