Mandatory sex offender registration is a part of almost any sex crime conviction. Under California Penal Code Section 290 “Sex Offender Registration Act” individuals who have been convicted of particular sex crime offenses will be required to register with local law enforcement within 5 business days of coming into the particular area where he or she will reside. The offender will have to register at other intervals as well, and Section 290 lists all of these in detail. The act also applies to out of state residents who are going to reside or work in California for more than 14 days.
The Requirements Of Registration
According to Penal Code Section 290:
A person who is discharged or released on parole from a county or state correctional institution must register with local law enforcement within 5 business days of his or her release.
A sex offender must re-register within 5 business days of his or her birthday, every year.
A sex offender must re-register within 5 days of changing residence or changing his or her name.
A Los Angeles sex crimes attorney at our firm can review your particular situation and help determine whether sex offender registration may be a part of the potential penalties that you will face if convicted.
Enlist Powerful Legal Advocacy
At our firm, we are dedicated to providing our clients with the aggressive representation they need in order to avoid sex offender registration in the first place. However, if you have already been convicted and have been accused of a failure to register or re-register, we can still help. By consulting a defense lawyer at our firm, we can help you understand your legal rights and options in order to benefit the outcome of your legal matter.
The Los Angeles criminal defense attorneys at Okabe & Haushalter are ready to fight to tooth and nail for you. You have most likely heard of our firm from our television appearances, newspaper articles and other media from the national and international covered cases we have handled.