Having any form of sexual intercourse with a minor is a serious criminal offense. Under California law, sex with a minor constitutes the offense of statutory rape. Although “rape” is in the title of this offense, this does not imply forced or unwanted sexual intercourse. Rather, it involves nonconsensual intercourse, which is only deemed nonconsensual because the alleged victim is under the age of legal consent (under 18 years old). Sex with a minor is most often a felony offense and a conviction may result in up to 4 years in state prison as well as fines and sex offender registration.
The specific penalties for sex with a minor will vary mostly depending upon the age of the alleged offender and the age of the victim. They may also vary depending upon the particular circumstances of the case, the defendant’s criminal record (if any) and the jurisdiction. Following are some basic penalties which are covered under California penal code:
Do not delay in consulting a Los Angeles sex crime defense lawyer at our firm if you or someone you know is facing criminal charges involving sex with a minor. Immediate action needs to be taken so you can avoid imprisonment, heavy fines and sex offender registration. At our firm, we have the expertise in this field to provide high-quality legal representation both inside and outside of the courtroom.