If you have been convicted of a sex crime in Los Angeles and were sentenced to sex offender registration, you will face harsh penalties if you fail to register. In California, sex offenders are required to register with local law enforcement at regular intervals. This includes:
The offender is required to register and verify his or her name and address at these intervals, as well as his or her place of employment.
California Penal Code Section 290 outlines the regulations associated with sex offender registration and re-registration. Failure to register as a sex offender may be a misdemeanor or a felony offense, depending upon whether the offense that the offender was convicted of was a misdemeanor or a felony. If the offender was convicted of a felony sex offense, the failure to register or re-register will be a felony. If the offender was convicted of a misdemeanor sex offense, failure to register will be a misdemeanor.
A felony conviction for a failure to register or re-register as a sex offender in California may result in imprisonment in state prison for 16 months, 2 years or 3 years.
A dedicated attorney from our firm can protect your rights in the face of allegations that you have failed to register as a sex offender. With our extensive knowledge and experience in this area, we are able to provide high-quality representation to all of our clients. We can help you understand the specific qualifications of registering and re-registering in order to help you avoid charges in the first place, and we can defend your rights against criminal charges.