The crime of molestation is a serious one, and being accused of it can have serious ramifications, not only in terms of penalties under the law but also to your reputation. Your friends and family, neighbors, and coworkers may treat you differently if they get wind of these accusations, even if the allegations are false.
The California Penal Code has several statutes related to what people refer to as molestation. Speak to a Manhattan Beach molestation defense lawyer at Okabe & Haushalter if you are accused of any of these crimes and reside in the Los Angeles area to learn more about how to fight the charges against you.
Several different parts of the California Penal Code cover criminal offenses related to molestation. Some common charges include molesting or annoying a child, lewd and lascivious acts with a minor, and statutory rape. In many cases, multiple charges can be prosecuted for the same alleged crime.
Anyone over the age of 18 who is accused of molesting a person under the age of 18 can be charged under California Penal Code Section 647.6. Anyone convicted of this crime faces a penalty of less than one year in a local jail and a fine of up to 5,000 dollars.
An adult person who is accused of committing lewd or lascivious acts with a minor under the age of 14 can be charged under California Penal Code Section 288. The penalties for those convicted of these crimes depend on several factors including the age of the minor, the age difference between the minor and the defendant, and whether or not force was used. Also, repeat offenses are generally punished more harshly than first-time offenses.
California Penal Code Section 261.5 covers the offense of statutory rape, where an adult and a minor engage in sexual intercourse. The use of force and age differences between involved parties play a large role in the application of this law, where a 17-year-old having non-forcible intercourse with an 18-year-old is not punished as severely as a 15-year-old having intercourse with a 55-year-old.
Under California Penal Code 288.2 PC, it is against the law to send explicit or obscene material to minors under the age of 18 with the intent of seducing or sexually arousing the sender or the recipient.
Under California Penal Code 288.3 PC, It is against the law for an individual to contact a minor with the intent to commit a felony sex crime. Some examples of felony sex crimes could include rape, sexual battery, and child pornography, to name a few.
Under California Penal Code 288.4 PC, it is against the law for an individual to arrange a meeting with a minor under the age of 18 with the intent to engage in specific types of sexual conduct.
Under California Penal Code 288.5 PC, it is against the law for an individual to engage in continuous sexual abuse of a child under the age of 14. Continuous sexual abuse means three or more instances of sexual abuse occurring over a period of three months or more.
Under California Penal Code 288.7 PC, it is against the law for adults to engage in sexual acts of any kind with a child under the age of 10 years old.
Punishments for these crimes range from short-term jail sentences and smaller fines to lengthy prison incarceration and fines in the tens of thousands of dollars. One penalty all these crimes have in common when convicted is compulsory sex offender registration under California Penal Code Section 290. This registration means that your personal data would be made available to the public, and this data could include your photo, name, address, and the details of the crime you were convicted of. Some offenses call for lifelong registration, while others require registration for a limited period of time, such as ten years.
In addition to facing incarceration, fines, and sex offender registration, there are various other criminal and collateral consequences that you may face as part of your conviction. Depending on the details of your case, some of the different penalties you may experience include:
These are only a few of the different consequences you may face if you are found guilty of a molestation charge in Manhattan Beach. Find out the extent of the charges you are facing when you contact your molestation defense attorney for help.
If you have been accused of molestation-related sex crimes, it is critical that you take steps to defend yourself. Depending on the details of your case, you may be able to work out a plea agreement with the state’s prosecutor.
However, if you are going to present a defense at trial, some of the more common strategies that may be used in Manhattan Beach molestation defense cases like yours include:
You don’t have to go up against these charges alone. A Manhattan Beach molestation defense lawyer at Okabe & Haushalter can help you fight your case in court.
Our attorneys are experienced professionals with a track record of proven results. We can help you navigate your options as a defendant and can negotiate a satisfying outcome for your case. Call today for a free case assessment at 310-430-7799. Alternatively, complete our quick contact form and we will reach out to you to discuss your potential defense strategies.